breweriana.coasters: Make your own story


I love these coasters, and while they are not a set or even beer coasters they seemed to make a great story together.   I’ve arranged them to tell my own story!-)

You also have two biscuits with your coffee?

A

The Dutch are just more progressive, especially for 1988.  I not sure any other country, even today, could get a way with scene on a coaster.  The caption literally translated is “You also have two biscuits with your coffee?”  Funny in any context but it takes on a whole new meaning when paired with this illustration.

Hands off my coffee, friend.

B

It seems the Dutch take their coffee ownership pretty seriously.  Don’t make this mistake the next time you are in Amsterdam.  Literally translated as “Hands off my coffee, pal.”

Darling ca I go? My coffee calls.

C

Then the ending. Or is it?  Literally translated as “Darling, can I go?  My coffee calls.”

This was some sort of a contest. The back of each coaster has a speech balloon and instructions to write the next passage and if your entry is one of the 101 they choose you will receive a silver pendent shaped like a coffee bean with an emerald.  That sounds like a pretty good prize, unfortunately the contest ended 23 years ago.

Now it is your turn!  I won’t be giving away a silver coffee bean pendant with an emerald but I will be giving away a very nice, heavy duty denim apron with a fancy hop graphic that I designed.

How to enter:

Follow this LINK to enter your comments.  I know it is a pain in the butt, however, I have better control of entrant data there and so I can track down the winners much easier this way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

