homebrew.recipe: Rye Pale Ale


Sad kegs and taps

Sad kegs and taps!

I am celebrating 3000+  hits today (thanks for all the visits my fellow HopHeads! ) by posting my most recent homebrew recipe – Rye Pale Ale.   If you aren’t a home brewer then be sure to try a Rye Pale Ale next time you get the chance.  Generally these beers are plenty dry, crisp, thirst quenching and just a touch spicy which make these hot summer days (not mine on the Central Coast but certainly everywhere else) bearable.  This is the second version of this beer and I can tell already by the fermentor sample that this beer is gonna be great!  I will wait until the fermentation is done for my “dryness verdict” but if the fermentation keeps going I should be able to reach my terminal gravity with no problems.

Happy Fermentor

Happy Fermentor!

 

Rye Pale Ale

10-A American Pale Ale

Size: 11.08 gal

Efficiency: 73.26%

Attenuation: 89.4%

Calories: 213.59 kcal per 12.0 fl oz

Original Gravity: 1.065 (1.045 – 1.060)

Terminal Gravity: 1.007 (1.010 – 1.015)

Color: 5.44 (5.0 – 14.0)

Alcohol: 7.69% (4.5% – 6.2%)

Bitterness: 51.8 (30.0 – 45.0)

Ingredients:

25.66 lb Pale Malt(2-row)

3 lb Rye Malt

2 ea Fermentis US-05 Safale US-05

2 oz Magnum (14.5%) – added during boil, boiled 30.0 min

3.0 oz Cascade (6.1%) – added during boil, boiled 10 min

2.0 oz Cascade (6.1%) – added during boil, boiled 5.0 min

3.0 oz Cascade (6.1%) – flame out

2.0 oz Cascade (6.1%) – dry hop

Notes

mashed in @ 154

mashed out @ 148 2 hours later … the fermentor lost temp

Mash Gravity = 14p or 1.057

Finished the boil at 15p or 1.061 – just a touch under the expected of 1.064.  I neglected to

to take a volume reading and I am guessing that I was still above my anticipated volume which

resulted in the lower starting gravity.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

